Garam Masala – In the Quest for the Spice Queen

Certain joys in life can remain unmatched. Ages ago, meeting the Queen (I imagined Mario to wed her, hence the deviation from ‘princess’) at the end of a Super Mario game was the ultimate thrill. A few years later, it was the chessboard that brought me joy. The moment my pawns yielded to the mighty forces, I rejoiced at the fiery attacks unleashed by my black queen on the board. However, my understanding of a queen took a hit after reading Hilary Mantel’s ‘Wolf Hall’. Little did I know that I would encounter a greater challenge – someone much closer to home, right in my own culinary kitchen, searching for the perfect Garam Masala – the Queen of the Indian cuisine. If her mood isn’t right, she can be fierce, tormenting your taste buds. But if handled correctly, she can be sweet. She holds the power to work magic, yet if she fails, all fail. In my never-ending quest for my beloved, I penned a poem dedicated to her.

Are you going to KR Market Fair?
Cinnamon, clove, bay leaf, and cumin,
Recall the secret once shared,
If not, seek out someone who holds it dear.

Urge her to calm her restless spirit,
(I yearn for your presence by my side).
A pinch of ginger can transform everything,
(Infusing biryani with fiery zest).
How can I reach you?
(Come back and let me reign).
All you do is mix and grind,
(Yet your mood remains elusive).

Will you be at the KR Market Fair?
Cinnamon, clove, bay leaf, and cumin,
Reflect on your granny who confided the secret,
Once shared, never to be revealed again...

The reason behind selecting Scarborough Fair as a parody is not to be irreverent, but rather to draw a reference illustrating that crafting the perfect Garam masala is seemingly more daunting than the tasks outlined in the song. If you’re willing, I implore you, if you possess the knowledge, please share the secret to this nearly insurmountable feat. I’ll be forever grateful to you, even until the end of time. Feel free to offer suggestions in the comments below.

P.S. – This poem was penned in the aftermath of the frustration of once again failing to achieve the perfect Biryani, with my queen bearing the brunt of the blame.

As you can see the colour and texture of the Biryani played it’s part but yet without the perfect queen it was a disaster in flavour town

Leave a comment